The Graces

The Graces
See More The Graces Pictures >

The Charites (singular Charis) or Graces were three or more minor deities in Greek mythology, daughters of Zeus and Eurynome according to the prevalent belief; sometimes, they were considered daughters of Dionysus and Aphrodite; or Helios and Aegle. They were Aglaea (splendor), Euphrosyne (mirth) and Thalia (good cheer), and they were also linked to the Underworld.

In some parts of Ancient Greece, the number of the Graces differed; for example, other names have been included such as Hegemone, Peitho, Pasithea and Cale. In Sparta, Thalia was not considered to be a Grace, and Cleta was included instead. They all were patrons of various pleasures in life, such as play, amusement, rest, happiness and relaxation. In classical art, the Charites were often represented as three naked women dancing in a circle.

More: Zeus, Eurynome, Dionysus, Aphrodite

Previous: The Fates Next: The Muses