Siebengebirge Picture

Everytime I return from a vacation, I feel home when I catch the first glimps of the "Siebengebirge". Most people think that the name refers to the seven hilltops; however, "sieben" in this case used to be "siefen" which means somewhat like "valley with many creeks".

There are far more than twenty hills in the Siebengebirge, yet from my home you can only those seven hilltops whose names are (from left to right):

1: Oelberg. 2: Lohrberg. 3: Löwenburg. 4: Nonnenstromberg. 5: Petersberg. 6: Wolkenburg. 7: Drachenfels.

"Drachenfels" (Dragon's Rock) has a popular mythological background. It is said to be the place where Siegfried in the "Nibelungenlied" slaughtered the dragon Fafnir and took a bath in his blood.
Continue Reading: Places