The Twelve Olympians Picture

The Twelve Olympians in Greek mythology were the principal gods of the Greek pantheon, residing atop Mount Olympus. The classical scheme comprises the following gods: Zeus, Hera, Poseidon, Athena, Ares, Demeter, Apollo, Artemis, Hephaestus, Aphrodite, Hermes and Dionysus.
Hades was not generally included in this list. He did not have a seat in the pantheon because he spent almost all of his time in the underworld. Also commonly seen among the twelve is Hestia. When Dionysus was offered a seat, the total number of Olympians became thirteen. Believing thirteen to be an unlucky number and wishing to avoid a fight, Hestia stepped down.

Hope you like it!
Continue Reading: Mount Olympus